Reading and Stuff

I don’t read much. I don’t really know why. I mean, I enjoy books and all but I’m very selective and I can lose focus really easily while reading. This makes it difficult to read a lot.

I also read very slowly, so I take weeks to finish a book and by the time I’ve reached the end I’ve forgotten what happened at the beginning. I’ve wanted to be the person who has read a million books and knows a lot about the world and stuff, but it’s just not who I am.

I tried reading more during the holidays, but I found myself picking up the same immature books over and over. Am I just stupid? Do I not have the ability to comprehend complex concepts? That would suck.

I need book recommendations, preferably ones with relatively simple language else I lose interest and close the book faster than Brendon Urie closes the goddamn door (I’m sorry I’ll let myself out). Reading is a pretty cool thing, especially when I get immersed into the world and scream at the main character for being such an idiot. It’s fun (sometimes).

This love-hate relationship with books is hopefully temporary – I want to mature and be able to read the really good stuff which everyone keeps talking about. I’m still stuck on YA, with the terrible characters and over-written plotlines. I don’t want to be stuck here forever.

Leave a Reply

