New Year’s Resolutions

Who the hell decided that we make unachievable, unrealistic, pure GARBAGE goals for ourselves at the beginning of the year? I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to start out my year breaking promises.

On the surface, New Year’s Resolutions are a sweet little reminder that you need to make changes in your life but imagine if we had a serious system that made us hold onto them for the rest of the year? The idea of keeping, what are usually, difficult promises that I make while I’m high on life for an entire year is nauseating. I can’t even keep something like a promise to exercise more or procrastinate less for a few hours, so why bother restricting myself with painful changes to my lifestyle?

Personally, I don’t think we need ‘New Year’s Resolutions’ to make a change. If you find yourself wasting too much time on the Internet in August, why wait till January to stop? The whole idea of ‘new year new me’ is so restrictive. A new year doesn’t equal a new you. You can change yourself whenever the hell you want. A new day can equal a new you. Why do we need to force ourselves to make huge and sudden changes to our lifestyles at the beginning of the year when we can do it whenever we want to?

In fact, it’s statistically proven that you’re more likely to make lifestyle changes if you do them slowly and spread them out rather than plunging in. Okay, that wasn’t actually statistically proven but if you give me the resources and time I’m willing to go prove it. Yeah, I’m supposed to be studying right now I’d just about be willing to do anything that gets me out of it.

OH GOD SCHOOL STARTS TOMORROW KILL ME PLEASE.

(Don’t take that seriously, I’m a mess).

Leave a Reply

